Google My Business Photos Update Screenshot 1

In March of this year, Google announced a ‘photo update’ feature that gives Google Maps users on Android devices a new way to upload photos to your Google My Business profile.

I’ve only just spotted it being used ‘in the wild’, and haven’t seen much in the way of coverage, so I thought it worth sharing some details on how it works, what you need to know, and what it could mean for the future of GMB (specifically Google Posts).

After all, the features you know about but your competitors don’t are the ones that make you stand out when searchers compare businesses. Read on to find out more!

What are Google My Business ‘Photo Updates’?

We’re all familiar with the contents of the ‘By owner’ tab in the updates section. This is where we see our Google My Business Posts, new photos and updated hours:

Google My Business Photos Update Screenshot 1

The Google Maps update introduced the ‘By Visitors’ tab:

Google My Business Photos Update Screenshot 2

I hadn’t read anything about this, and Stefan Somborac pointed me in the direction of this post on Google’s blog, which explains that this feature was launched in March 2021:

Share your photos

Digging around in Google’s guidance on GMB posts, I found this section:

Google My Business Photo Updates Screenshot 3

What’s interesting here is that the guidance wording suggests that it’s only possible to add a photo update when you’re leaving a review. However, it is possible to add a photo update without leaving a review if you click here, on ‘Add a photo update’:

Google My Business Photo Updates Screenshot 3

When a user adds a ‘photo update’, Google prompts them to ‘say something about…

Read More…